Destiny 2 Raid Guide - Full Raid Walkthrough, Prestige, Release Date, Level Requirement, Planet Setting, Locked Loadouts, Raid Bosses

Here's everything you need to know about every Raid in Destiny 2, as well as how to make it through every section of the opening Leviathan Raid.

Guide by Hirun Cryer, .

Destiny Raids are a massive part of the endgame for any and all players, but should be approached with severe caution, as they're the toughest challenge that the game can throw your way. In this Destiny 2 Raid guide, we'll be explaining what Raids actually are, as well as how they function in the overall context of the wider game.

If you need anything else whatsoever on Destiny 2 that isn't about the Leviathan raid, for example every subclass in the game, as well as every Exotic weapon we've uncovered so far, head over to our Destiny 2 everything we know guides hub.

For a complete walkthrough of the Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid, including puzzle solutions in the Royals Pools and boss guides, head over to our Leviathan Raid walkthrough.

What is a Raid in Destiny 2?

Firstly, what are Destiny 2 Raids? They're extremely challenging endgame content, designed to test a group of six players in a series of chaotic and deadly encounters with numerous enemies. The Raids always have a minimum level requirement for all players involved, and they generally offer the best loot in the game, hence why players always seek to undertake them multiple times.

Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid Prestige Difficulty

The brand new Prestige Difficulty level has now arrived for the Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid, allowing players to take on an even tougher challenge than before. Although the required Power level for the event will be set at 300 for the Prestige Difficulty mode, the rewards you gain from the Leviathan Raid won't change from the normal version, meaning you could be putting yourself through a whole lot of pain for relatively little reward. This could all change once Bungie eventually increases the Power level cap, but for now, you'll still be earning roughly the same level gear from the normal version of the Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid.

Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid Optional Challenges

Bungie recently confirmed that the Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid would be getting new optional challenges, beginning on October 31.

These new challenges for the Leviathan Raid are entirely optional, and every Fireteam undertaking the Raid will be presented with a single optional challenge for the Raid once every week, which you'll be able to view in the Director. It's not yet clear what rewards these optional challenges will grant players, but Emperor Calus Tokens seem like a fairly safe bet.

Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid Release Date

The first Raid in Destiny 2, commonly being referred to as the 'Leviathan Raid', launched back on September 13, at 10 am PDT. This was right around a week after the full launched, and around the same time on September 12, Bungie will begin rolling out the Guided Games feature for a select few players, in what the dev is referring to as a 'soft beta'.

Destiny 2 Raid Level Requirement

Destiny 2 design lead Luke Smith revealed the Power level requirements for the Raid merely a day before the event was due to launch, stating that the Power level needed would be between 260 and 280. You'll likely want to get your Power level as high as possible before the Raid launches on September 13, but at least we now know that you'll ideally need to be around 270 for a comfortable journey through the Leviathan Raid.

Destiny 2 Raids usually take a fair few hours to complete, especially if you're going in blind for the first time. We'd estimate that the Raid will take at least 6 hours to complete when you're starting it out with no prior knowledge for the first time, and you should be prepared to dedicate hours of your life to every single challenge section of the Levaithan Raid, whenever you're taking it on.

As for future Raids in Destiny 2, we can probably expect them to require higher Power levels than the first Leviathan Raid. This is what happened with the Vault of Glass and subsequent Raids in the original Destiny, and we can also expect Bungie to raise the Power level cap beyond 300 in the future.

The Raids back in the original Destiny featured many different challenging aspects, such as climbing puzzles and objectives based around defending an area for a limited time. We've already arguably seen the return of climbing and aerial puzzles in Destiny 2, in the Inverted Spire Strike that was featured in the open beta for the game.

We have a wealth of additional guides on Destiny 2 here at USgamer, and this content will only be growing as soon as we get our hands on the final retail copy of the game in the next few days. For now though, why not check out our guides on every Exotic weapon we've seen so far, or our guide on the opening Homecoming mission of Destiny 2.

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.


  • There are no comments on this article yet! Could you be the first to post one?