Sections

Awesome Games Done Quick 2018: Highlights From Next Week's Schedule

From a Mega Man relay race to smashing through Prey in 15 minutes, 2018's first AGDQ already looks exciting.

News by Caty McCarthy, .

Speedrunning is a wild thing to behold, and that's what makes the biannual Awesome Games Done Quick (AGDQ) event such a delight. The week-long event kicks off this Sunday from the confines of a quaint banquet hall in Herndon, Virginia at 8:30am PST / 11:30am EST with dozens upon dozens of players speedrunning games.

Watch live video from GamesDoneQuick on www.twitch.tv

The Games Done Quick events have raised over $12 million for charity organizations since 2010. This year's first AGDQ event's chosen charity is the Prevent Cancer Foundation, a common choice from years' past too. The planned speedruns themselves are increasingly ludicrous this year, from themed blocks of Metal Gear Solid to multiple speedrunner races. And a tip from yours truly: always be sure to catch any Super Monkey Ball speedrun, they're always the most entertaining and crazy to watch.

Below are a selection of highlights from the upcoming event, and you can find the entire schedule on Awesome Game Done Quick's own website. We've also included an embedded Twitch stream above so you can see the action right here.

Sunday, January 7

  • 11:03 a.m. PST / 2:03 p.m. EST: Splatoon 2 campaign run by TonesBalones with no completion requirements (also known as "any%").
  • 2:28 p.m. PST / 5:28 p.m. EST: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim's main quest in 50 minutes by Wall of Spain.
  • 4:18 p.m. PST / 7:18 p.m. EST: F-Zero GX, all tracks time attack at max speed by AKC12.
  • 9:30 p.m. PST / 12:30 a.m. EST: LittleBigPlanet 2 co-op of New Game+ by RbdJellyfish and p-p-j.

Monday, January 8

  • 4:41 a.m. PST / 7:41 a.m. EST: Contra co-op run by TheMexicanRunner and angrylanks.
  • 7:25 a.m. PST / 10:25 a.m. EST: Wario's Woods on hard difficulty versus COM by peteyboo.
  • 11:42 a.m. PST / 2:42 p.m. EST: Sonic Adventure 2: Battle, hero story race run by Seraphim1313 and a_moustache.
  • 12:34 p.m. PST / 3:34 p.m. EST: Sonic Mania run with Sonic & Tails with any% by Claris.
  • 4:30 p.m. PST / 7:30 p.m. EST: Metal Gear Solid run at any% on extreme difficulty by plywood.

Tuesday, January 9

  • 2:38 a.m. PST / 5:38 a.m. EST: Lovely Planet kicks off with a race run of the original game between sigma and Bullets, with a total time of 13 minutes; directly following at 3:01 a.m. PST / 6:01 a.m. EST is a playthrough of all of Super Lovely Planet within 14 minutes by sigma.
  • 7:50 a.m. PST / 10:50 a.m. EST: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night run with zero bosses by Dr4gonBlitz.
  • 7:03 p.m. PST / 10:03 p.m. EST: Resident Evil 7: Biohazard new game playthrough on Madhouse difficulty by Carcinogen.

Wednesday, January 10

  • 8:01 a.m. PST / 11:01 a.m. EST: Battletoads Arcade will be played on max difficulty by PJ, while also hosting a bidding war to raise additional money for the Prevent Cancer Foundation.
  • 2:57 p.m. PST / 5:57 p.m. EST: Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island will host a big warpless race between speedrunners, featuring Calco2, Kolthor_TheBarbarian, yamayuu, and Poahr.

Thursday, January 11

  • 12:50 a.m. PST / 3:50 a.m. EST: Bubsy 2 for all the masochists out there, speedrun in 20 minutes by garbanzcurity.
  • 10:50 a.m. PST / 1:50 p.m. PST: Star Fox 2 run on New Game+ on expert difficulty by zallard1.
  • 1:50 p.m. PST / 4:50 p.m. EST: Prey (2017) will be speedrun in an astounding 15 minutes by DrTChops. Directly beforehand, the same speedrunner will be playing through all of Dishonored for a run that's a little over an hour, starting at 12:35 p.m. PST / 3:35 p.m. EST.
  • 7 p.m. PST / 10 p.m. EST: Owlboy in under an hour, defeating all bosses by Zic3.

Friday, January 12

  • 9:22 a.m. PST / 12:22 p.m. EST: Super Monkey Ball's beginner, advanced, and expert stages completed in 26 minutes by Zela1.
  • 10:18 a.m. PST / 1:18 p.m. EST: Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep Final Mix HD, the "longest" Kingdom Hearts game, will be speedrun in what still has yet to be determined (but may be a race) within an hour by KHfan169 and RebelDragon95.
  • 3:18 p.m. PST / 6:18 p.m. EST: Mega Man 1 through 3 team relay race featuring WhiteHat94, fastatcc, dxtr, coolkid, ColonelFatso, EndySWE, prisi, shoka, Streamline, Zaraki, cyghfer, and cassiothird.

Saturday, January 13

  • 4:42 a.m. PST / 7:42 a.m. EST: The Legend of Zelda (yes, the original), in a frenetic 100% run in a three-way race between JSR2gamers, BT, and RandomEffekt. The time limit is 45 minutes.
  • 8:40 a.m. PST / 11:40 a.m. EST: Diablo (1996) run as sorcerer, tackled in 35 minutes by Funkmastermp.
  • 11:21 a.m. PST / 2:21 p.m. EST: Bloodborne run with all bosses defeated in a little over 90 minutes by heyZeusHeresToast.
  • 8:14 p.m. PST / 11:14 p.m. EST: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild's main quests completed, with no amiibos utilized which takes close to four hours in total by atz.

Do you plan on watching AGDQ 2018 this upcoming week? What speedruns are you most excited for? Let us know in the comments!

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments 5

Comments

Close