• Got a Eurogamer account? Your details will work here too!

  • Need an account?

    Create an account. They're free!

  • Forgotten your login details?

    Recover your account here.

Xbox One, Molyneux, Watch Dogs and More at Eurogamer Expo

Our sister site's upcoming UK-based video games convention has an impressive lineup of hotly anticipated titles -- and even if you can't make it to the UK for the event itself, you'll be able to catch some fascinating dev sessions online.

Some of the most high-profile video game conventions -- and conventions that include video games as a significant component -- are focused in the United States, with gamers from other parts of the world often left to glare enviously at the enthusiastic hordes descending on, say, Seattle for PAX.

That's not to say other stuff isn't going on around the world, though. Germany plays host to Gamescom each year, for example, and that show frequently boasts of being one of the largest consumer video game shows in the world -- not an unreasonable assertion, given the 340,000 attendees this year. Japan, meanwhile, has TGS, which promises to be an exciting event this year as we get an idea for what Eastern developers have in mind for next-gen consoles.

A new show that is starting to rise to some degree of prominence is actually the work of our sister site Eurogamer and friends. Eurogamer Expo -- or EGX, as it's sometimes known -- is an annual event that takes place in London, UK, and offers attendees a chance to get their hands on the latest and greatest new games -- including, this year, the UK's first chance to actually play with Xbox One and PS4.

Being USgamer's resident Brit-who-actually-still-lives-in-Britain, I'll be in attendance at the show, getting some hands-on time with a selection of upcoming games and bringing you some impressions and thoughts straight from the developers' mouths. But you don't have to actually be in the UK to get involved with some of the interesting stuff the Expo will offer.

One of the highlights of the show as a whole in recent years has been the regular developer sessions, in which representatives from various developers from around the world take to the stage to demonstrate their various projects, explain their thinking behind various creative and technical decisions, and even take questions from the audience. These 35-minute sessions can be a fascinating insight into the development process, and an opportunity to see some of the most charismatic people in the industry passionately explaining what their lofty ambitions are. A couple of examples from last year are scattered throughout this article. And yes, this is usually a good place to see Peter Molyneux making promises he almost definitely won't keep.

This year, you don't have to be in attendance at the show to catch these developer sessions, since Eurogamer will be streaming them all over on its YouTube channel, and archiving them for you to watch later if you don't feel like getting up early in the morning to catch them live.

The full lineup -- first announced earlier today -- is as follows:

Thursday September 26

12pm UK (7am Eastern, 4am Pacific) -- Phil Harrison's exclusive Xbox One presentation
1pm UK (8am Eastern, 5am Pacific) -- Forza Motorsport 5 (Dan Greenawalt from Turn10)
2pm UK (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific) -- PS4 Indie: Velocity 2X (FuturLab)
3pm UK (10am Eastern, 7am Pacific) -- Killzone: Shadow Fall (Guerrilla Games)
4pm UK (11am Eastern, 8am Pacific) -- Guild Wars 2 New Content (ArenaNet)
5pm UK (12pm Eastern, 9am Pacific) -- The Evil Within (Bethesda/Tango Gameworks)

Friday September 27

12pm UK (7am Eastern, 4am Pacific) -- Tearaway (Media Molecule)
1pm UK (8am Eastern, 5am Pacific) -- Beyond: Two Souls (David Cage, Quantic Dream)
2pm UK (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific) -- Dying Light (Techland)
3pm UK (10am Eastern, 7am Pacific) -- FIFA 14 Next-Gen (EA Sports
4pm UK (11am Eastern, 8am Pacific) -- DriveClub (Evolution Studios)
5pm UK (12pm Eastern, 9am Pacific) -- Live show from our sister site Outside Xbox

Saturday September 28

12pm UK (7am Eastern, 4am Pacific) -- The Witcher 3 (CD Projekt RED)
1pm UK (8am Eastern, 5am Pacific) -- Watch Dogs (Ubisoft Montreal)
2pm UK (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific) -- Batman: Arkham Origins (WB Montreal)
3pm UK (10am Eastern, 7am Pacific) -- PS4 Indie: Resogun (Housemarque)
4pm UK (11am Eastern, 8am Pacific) -- Lego Marvel Super Heros (TT Games)
5pm UK (12pm Eastern, 9am Pacific) -- Need for Speed: Rivals (EA Ghost Studio)

Sunday September 29

12pm UK (7am Eastern, 4am Pacific) -- Project Godus (Peter Molyneux, 22cans)
1pm UK (8am Eastern, 5am Pacific) -- Thief (Eidos Montreal)
2pm UK (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific) -- Murdered: Soul Suspect (Airtight Games)
3pm UK (10am Eastern, 7am Pacific) -- The future of Ouya (Julie Uhrman)
4pm UK (11am Eastern, 8am Pacific) -- PS3 Indie: Wasteland Kings (Rami Ismail, Vlambeer)
5pm UK (12pm Eastern, 9am Pacific) -- The Eurogamer Indie Podcast

Eurogamer Expo is sold out for this year, but you can find full details on the show, the developer sessions and the exhibitors at the official website. I've already got some time booked with a few developers, but if any of you reading this have any specific requests for games you'd like to find out more about, be sure to let us know!

Full disclosure: The Eurogamer Expo is organized by Gamer Network, which publishes Eurogamer.net and USgamer.net. The editorial staff of Eurogamer is involved in the curation of the show, but nothing commercial. Check out Eurogamer's policies.

Tags: News

2 comments

Comments

Close