Sections

Overwatch Anniversary Event - (Update: Ending Today!) Double XP Weekend, New Legendary Skins, Emotes - Everything We Know

The Overwatch Anniversary Event kicks off on May 23, acting as a celebration of the game having been released a year before in 2016.

Guide by Hirun Cryer, .

Having been rumored for quite some time now, the Overwatch Anniversary Event is now live. The event marks the one year anniversary of when the game originally launched on PC and console back in 2016.

If you instead need help with any other areas of the game, then head over to our Overwatch guides hub page, featuring individual character strategy guides, as well as general tips and tricks articles for how to get better at playing the game.

This page will act as a hub of knowledge for the special Overwatch Anniversary Event, containing all the information you need to know, including start and end times, as well as all new legenday skins and emotes coming with the event.

Update: 06/12/2017 - Overwatch Anniversary Event Ends Today!

The Overwatch Anniversary Event is scheduled to end today, June 12, bringing a close to the celebratory event that marks one year since Overwatch first released. The double XP weekend will also be ending alongside the Anniversary Event, at exactly the same time.

Overwatch Anniversary Event - Start and End Times

The Overwatch Anniversary Event will start at the following times, with the corresponding time zones listed alongside:

  • 08:00 AM PT
  • 11:00 AM ET
  • 16:00 PM BST
  • 17:00 PM CEST

Furthermore, the Overwatch Anniversary Event will end on the following times, with the region listed alongside:

  • 12:00 PM PT
  • 15:00 PM ET
  • 20:00 PM BST
  • 21:00 PM CEST

What's new in the Overwatch Anniversary Event

Just as the Anniversary Event began on May 23, Blizzard released the video below through the offical Overwatch YouTube account, highlighting all the new features in the event.

The video highlights three new arena maps for Overwatch, titled Castillo, Black Forest, and Necropolis. On top of this, it looks as though new dance Emotes will be available for each character, based on the very end of the video.

The image below, posted to the official Overwatch website, revealed that players would get a free Anniversary loot box just by signing in, and that any Anniversary loot boxes that were purchased during the event would be locked away until after the event ends, on June 12.

All the New Overwatch Anniversary Legenary Skins

A wealth of new Legendary skins could also be seen in the video that came from Blizzard on the day of the Overwatch Anniversary Event. There are new skins for Tracer, Zayra, Soldier 76, Symmetra, Hanzo, Genji, D.Va, Lucio, and Mei.

The Pharah Anniversary Event skin seen just below is titled the 'Bedouin' skill, and this isn't the first new skin the character has gotten, having received a new skin with the Winter Event back around Christmas.

Below you can see the new D.Va skin, nicknamed the 'Cruiser' skin. This isn't the first time that D.Va has received a new skin for an event, as the character received a new skin with the Chinese New Year event.

The Bastion skin depicted below is called the 'Dune Buggy' skin, and doesn't look too dissimilar to the current Legendary Bastion skins, with the frame of Bastion himself being altered to resemble a different machine.

Mei is another character lucky enough to have been given an Anniversary Event skin, which can be see below, and is called the 'Beekeeper' skin.

The new Anniversary Event skin for Zarya is nicknamed the 'Cyberian' skin, and while the title itself is a clever play on words, the outfit transforms Zarya into a strange, futuristic looking robot of sorts.

The Anniversary Event skin for Genji, which can be seen just below, makes the cyber ninja look like a cousin of the Power Rangers.

The Anniversary Event skin below is for Soldier 76, and is nicknamed 'Cyborg 76'. This is the first new skin that the character has received since the Junkenstein's Revenge event near Halloween last year.

Aside from these skins, loot boxes are said to now contain over 100 new items, as the trailer depicted a horde of new player emblems, as well as a variety of new sprays for each character.

New Overwatch Anniversary Voice Lines

On May 18, Blizzard gave a sneak peek at some of the new voice lines that we can expect to hear when the Anniversary Event launches on May 23, through a tweet on the official Overwatch twitter account.

Make sure to bookmark this page, as we'll be returning to it with any new information regarding the Overwatch Anniversary Event whenever it breaks.

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Related Tags

Comments 3

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Comments

Close