Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine Guide - How to Access Trials of the Nine, Exotic Loot Rewards

Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine Guide - How to Access Trials of the Nine, Exotic Loot Rewards

In this Destiny 2 Crucible guide we'll detail all the game modes and provide tips on how to play each of the maps, including Trials of the Nine.

The Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine player versus player mode is replacing the Trials of Osiris event from the original game, challenging players to complete a flawless run in the Crucible in order to gain access to the main Trial event. This Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine guide will tell you all you need to know.

If you need anything outside of a guide to the exclusive Trials of the Nine event, then be sure to head over to our Destiny 2 guides walkthrough hub, featuring articles on how to acquire every Exotic weapon in the game, as well as an overview of every Crucible map in rotation.

Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine Guide

If you check the opening monthly schedule for Destiny 2, you can see that Trials of the Nine will take place on a different map every week, and now that September 29 has rolled around, Trials of the Nine will be played on the Altar of Flame map, with the Survival mode.

The first monthly schedule for Destiny 2.

Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine Requirements

To take part in the Trials of the Nine event you'll need to meet certain requirements, which we've detailed for you below.

  • Players must complete the Destiny 2 campaign
  • Players must complete the the Call to Arms Milestone at least once
  • Players must have 260 Power

On the same day that Trials of the Nine was slated to be released for Destiny 2, Bungie released the cryptic teaser just below, which some say shows another member of the Nine, around the eight second mark.

As we previously mentioned, the Trials of the Nine mode is replacing the Trials of Osiris in the original Destiny (don't worry, Osiris himself will be appearing in the Curse of Osiris DLC, coming in December). For the Trials of Osiris, players had to complete a short story mission in order to partake in the Crucible mode, but this all changes in Destiny 2. All you have to do is simply head to the Crucible section in the Director, and you can head into Trials of the Nine near the top of the screen.

If you look in the Destiny 2 monthly schedule just above, you'll see that the game mode for Trials of the Nine will be Countdown, the mode where two teams of four players take turns planting and defusing bombs. It will also be set on the Altar of Flame map, which takes cues from the original Lighthouse location in the first Destiny.

USgamer are proud to present: Our attempt at the Trials of the Nine.

In the original Destiny, your team had to have a flawless run of games in Trials of Osiris in order to gain entry to the fabled Lighthouse, with wonders (and Exotic loot) awaiting each player within. In Destiny 2, if you go on a flawless run of victories in Trials of the Nine, you'll be visited by an Emissary from beyond, who represents the Nine. Here, you can purchase some of the best weaponry in Destiny 2 with Trial Marks, and you'll also gain access to a new social hub.

Since the Trials of the Nine mode is launching well before the Guided Games feature comes out of the beta phase on September 26, you won't be able to use Guided Games to find a Fireteam for Trials of the Nine before that later date. As we don't know this for certain, we'll update this guide with any additional information as soon as we hear anything.

Destiny 2 Trials of the Nine Rewards

If you manage to pull of the unthinkable, and actually go on a 7-game win streak in the Trials of the Nine mode, you'll be rewarded with a brand new social space, among many other Legendary and Exotic loot items. We won't actually spoil what the new social hub is, but if you want to see it for yourself, skip to the 1:32:40 point in the video just below:

Alternatively, if you want to see the complete loot list that the Trials Emissary will reward you with for completing a 7-game win streak on Trials of the Nine, skip to the 1:07:00 mark. There's some nice loot items to be gained from just taking part in the Trials of the Nine mode, as you can see at the point in the video where the player trades in some Tokens for a Power level 290 Legendary Engram.

This might be all the information we have on the elusive Trials of the Nine mode right now, but we do already have a full walkthrough guide for the Leviathan Raid, which just recently launched for Destiny 2 players around the globe. Head over to our Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid guide for a full walkthrough of the challenging gauntlet, including puzzle solutions and boss walkthrough guides.

Hirun Cryer

Staff Writer

Hirun Cryer is by far the most juvenile member of USgamer. He's so juvenile, that this is his first full-time job in the industry, unlike literally every other person featured on this page. He's written for The Guardian, Paste Magazine, and Kotaku, and he likes waking up when the sun rises and roaming the nearby woods with the bears and the wolves.

Related articles

Tetris Effect: Connected's Co-op Has a Self-Revival Trick Everyone Needs to Learn

We're never gonna protect this trippy Tetris realm if you don't!

How to Make Your Money in Yakuza: Like a Dragon's Business Mode

Go from rags to riches with some proper management.

Xbox Game Pass Ultimate Is the First Thing You Should Buy on Your New Xbox Series X

We break down the reasons why Xbox Game Pass is an essential pickup now that the Xbox Series X is here.

You may also like

Press Start to Continue

A look back on what we tried to accomplish at USgamer, and the work still to be done.

Mat's Farewell | The Truth Has Not Vanished Into Darkness

This isn't the real ending, is it? Can't be.