Destiny 2 New Light - What's Included in the Free to Play Version?

Destiny 2 New Light - What's Included in the Free to Play Version?

Here's everything you need to know about Destiny 2 New Light, the free to play version.

New Light is the free to play version of Destiny 2, and it launched alongside the Shadowkeep expansion for the main game. In this Destiny 2 New Light guide, we'll be walking you through everything that's included with the free to play version of Bungie's shooter, as well as what isn't included.

Destiny 2 New Light

As we mentioned at the top of this guide, the free to play version of Destiny 2 is called New Light. Bungie revealed that the game was going free to play earlier in the year, after they split with publisher Activision.

Destiny 2 New Light is out right now. It's worth noting that while the game was originally available on the Blizzard launcher on PC, it's switching over to Steam for the launch of both New Light and Shadowkeep.

What's Included in New Light?

Spoiler: it's a lot of content. Below, we'll list out everything you'll get access to in the New Light version of Destiny 2, on all platforms.

  • Free roam in all destinations.
  • The base Destiny 2 campaign.
  • Plus, the Curse of Osiris and Warmind campaigns.
  • All Black Armory Forges.
  • Gambit, and Gambit Prime modes.
  • The full Menagerie.
  • All base game Nightfall Strikes.
  • All base game Exotic weapons and armor.
  • All Crucible playlists and modes.
  • All Crucible-related armor and weapons.
  • All base Strikes in Destiny 2.
  • All Strike-related armor and weapons.
  • The Iron Banner, Festival of the Lost, Dawning, Crimson Days, and Solstice of Heroes events.
  • The Leviathan Raid, plus Eater of Worlds Raid Lair.
All the content included in Destiny 2 New Light. | Bungie

What's Not Included in New Light?

Speaking in basic terms, you'll have access to the whole base game of Destiny 2, plus the first year of DLC, which included the Curse of Osiris and Warmind expansions. You won't however have access to the main campaign of Forsaken, or the Strikes that launched as part of Forsaken.

Additionally, you won't have access to the Shadowkeep expansion. Although you can actually level up to the new max Power level that's arriving in Shadowkeep, you won't be able to take part in any of the Strikes, campaign missions, or other activities related to the new expansion. For a complete walkthrough of everything that's included in the DLC, head over to our Destiny 2 Shadowkeep guide.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Hirun Cryer

Staff Writer

Hirun Cryer is by far the most juvenile member of USgamer. He's so juvenile, that this is his first full-time job in the industry, unlike literally every other person featured on this page. He's written for The Guardian, Paste Magazine, and Kotaku, and he likes waking up when the sun rises and roaming the nearby woods with the bears and the wolves.

In other news

The Game Awards Will Host Its 2020 Show From Three Remote Locations

Geoff Keighley's big year-end show will be broadcast from LA, London, and Tokyo.

Nvidia RTX 3080 Scalpers Who Used Bots Might Get Taken Down by Bots in Return

Those bids in the tens of thousands of dollars? They may be meant to oust the scalpers.

Naughty Dog Promises "Exciting Things" for the Newly Renamed Last of Us Day

"Outbreak Day" isn't a thing anymore, by the by.

Monster Hunter: Rise is a Switch Exclusive Launching in March 2021

The next entry in the series returns to its Nintendo roots.

You may also like

Mass Effect Trilogy Remaster Reportedly Set for Next Year, Without Multiplayer

The Legendary Edition will reportedly have all the DLC and no MP.

Left 4 Dead 2 Is Free-to-Play This Weekend in Honor of Its Big Community Update

Hoist a pitchfork, grab some pills, and go to town on those zombies.

Spelunky 2 Won't Have Online Support at Launch on PC, But Cross-Play Is on the Way

Yup, down the road you'll be able to go spelunking on PC with your PS4 friends.

Microsoft's ZeniMax Acquisition Pushes Xbox Game Pass Into Overdrive

THIS WEEK IN BUSINESS | Microsoft's plan to change the way we play games received a considerable boost this week, but what happens if it works?