Bungie Admits Mistakes Were Made With Curse of Osiris, Unlocks Destiny 2 Endgame Content

Bungie Admits Mistakes Were Made With Curse of Osiris, Unlocks Destiny 2 Endgame Content

Prestige Nightfall remains locked however.

Last week, Bungie came under fire after it was revealed that certain Destiny 2 activities became locked behind the new expansion, Curse of Osiris. Now, Bungie has addressed these issues by unlocking a bulk of these activities again for all players, regardless of whether or not they own the latest expansion.

"With Curse of Osiris now live, it's clear that we've made some mistakes with how we handled content access," begins a blog post on Bungie addressing the recent issues. Key among them was the fact that with the new expansion, the Power Level cap rose to 330 (from 300). That change affected activities like the Prestige Raid and Nightfall, upping their recommended Power Levels for participation also to 330.

While for Bungie this was a way to keep existing content competitive as each new expansion increases the level cap and introduces more powerful gear, the consequence for doing so ended up disenfranchising a lot of customers. To make matters worse, certain achievements and trophies which requires players to complete Prestige activities became locked to players who only own the base game. Something Bungie also apologized for.

"To make matters worse, our team overlooked the fact that both of these mistakes disabled Trophies and Achievements for Destiny 2. This was an unacceptable lapse on our part, and we can understand the frustration it has created."

Going forward, here are the changes Bungie will make to prevent this situation from happening again.

  • The Prestige Leviathan Raid will drop back down to Power 300.
  • This unlocks "The Prestige" achievement/trophy to all players.
  • Rewards will drop down to match the new power level.
  • Trials of the Nine will only require Curse of Osiris ownership when it features a Curse of Osiris map.
  • Seasonal Rewards introduced in Curse of Osiris will require the expansion.
  • Prestige Nightfall will remain at 330 Power level as it will serve as the pinnacle activity.
  • The Prestige achievement/trophy now only refers to the Prestige Raid.
  • A potential third level of difficulty could be added to help provide expansion owners and non-owners a similar challenge.
  • Normal Nightfall only requires the Curse of Osiris expansion if it features an expansion map.
  • Limited events like Iron Banner, Faction Rally, and The Dawning will be available to all players.
  • Seasonal Rewards introduced in Curse of Osiris will require the expansion.

This is a pretty solid middle ground approach that is similar to other expansion-style progression seen in other MMOs. The problem with games like Destiny 2 and other service games is that at some point it will be necessary to purchase the latest expansion to keep up-to-date with the game. But last week's content lock was heavy-handed, especially considering how recently the game came out.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Matt Kim

News Editor

Matt Kim is a former freelance writer who's covered video games and digital media. He likes video games as spectacle and is easily distracted by bright lights or clever bits of dialogue. He also once wrote about personal finance, but that's neither here nor there.

In other news

Disintegration Will Gradually Shutter Its Multiplayer, Starting Today

The bikes are setting back down on the ground.

Medal of Honor's VR Comeback Is Slated for a December Launch

Respawn's reboot is coming to Oculus headsets, as well as SteamVR.

Left 4 Dead 2 Is Getting a Massive Fan-Made and Valve-Approved Update

The Last Stand Update adds a new campaign and a whole lot more.

Quake's Soundtrack Just Got a Vinyl Remaster

Nine Inch Nails' classic tracks have been remastered for vinyl.

Need help?

Call of Duty Modern Warfare Weapons Tier List

Here's our guide compiling the Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2019 weapons list, including all weapon unlock levels, and more.

Borderlands 3 Shift Codes List (August 2020)

All the info you need on getting and redeeming SHiFT Codes in Borderlands 3, plus how to get Golden Keys to earn loot.

Destiny 2 Xenophage Quest - How to Get the New Xenophage Machine Gun

This is how to complete the Destiny 2 Xenophage quest, including all puzzles, and more.

Apex Legends Wattson - Abilities, Skins, How to Win With Wattson Apex Legends

This is our guide to Wattson in Apex Legends, featuring all her legendary skins, new abilities, tips, and more.