Counter-Strike Global Offensive Goes Free-to-Play, Gets New Battle Royale Mode Called Danger Zone

Counter-Strike Global Offensive Goes Free-to-Play, Gets New Battle Royale Mode Called Danger Zone

Take me to the DANGER ZONE.

Valve announced that Counster-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) is getting a battle royal mode Danger Zone. As a bonus CS: GO is now free to play.

CS: GO is Valve's popular, military-style PvP shooter and it now features a battle royale mode. Players will drop into Blacksite where they can then scavenge for guns, gear, and cash. Special target eliminations or hostage rescues will net players more cash in a round.

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive Danger Zone

Danger Zone is unique in that while it features many of the same principals of a battle royale mode, the player count is set at 16 total players for solos, and 18 players for duos and trios. This is far smaller than the 100 player average games like PUBG and Fortnite offer.

As part of CS:GO's transition to free to play, existing owners who login will receive the new Danger Zone mode and an automatic upgrade to Prime Status. Prime Status players are eligible for an exclusive Danger Zone Souvenir. Meanwhile, newcomers can play to become Prime accounts, or pay $14.99 for an upgrade.

CS: GO is the latest IP to introduce a new battle royale mode alongside Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 and soon Battlefield 5. The success of games like PUBG and Fortnite has made battle royale modes a mainstay in traditional PvP shooters, and we expect to see even more in the future.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Matt Kim

News Editor

Matt Kim is a former freelance writer who's covered video games and digital media. He likes video games as spectacle and is easily distracted by bright lights or clever bits of dialogue. He also once wrote about personal finance, but that's neither here nor there.

In other news

A 64-Player Pac-Man Battle Royale Is Launching Exclusively on Stadia

There's a free demo out now if you're down to try out Google's streaming service.

Luigi is Real in Super Mario Bros. 35

Play as Luigi in Super Mario Bros. 35. (Or wear his skin, whatever.)

Fall Guys Sets a Start Date for the Medieval-Themed Season 2

You know what that game needs? Siege warfare.

Need help?

Fortnite Overtime Challenges - How to Complete All the Overtime Challenges in Fortnite Battle Royale

These are all the Fortnite Overtime Challenges, which offer a ton of bonus XP and a new loading screen.

Battlefield 5 Firestorm Tips - Choose Class, How to Win at Battlefield Battle Royale

Battlefield Firestorm has finally launched. Here’s how to come out on top.

Fallout 76 Nuclear Winter Release Date, Beta Phase, Battle Royale Mode - Everything we Know

This is our guide to the new Fallout 76 Nuclear Winter battle royale mode, including the beta testing phase, and more.