Destiny 2 Enhancements For PS4 Pro and Xbox One X Coming Next Month

Destiny 2 Enhancements For PS4 Pro and Xbox One X Coming Next Month

Bungie promises that your upgraded consoles will have 4K and HDR very soon.

Bungie has announced that Destiny 2 will patched to make full use of the PlayStation 4 Pro and Xbox One X. The patch will be coming on December 5, alongside the launch of Curse of Osiris and Season Two.

"The holiday season is nigh, so you might be compiling your wish list. The PlayStation 4 Pro and the Xbox One X are now both out there in the wild, and either of them would make a great gift – even if it's one you buy for yourself. We've seen a lot of questions about whether or not Destiny 2 would scale to meet the potential of new hardware. On this festive occasion, the answer is 'Yes!' If you're migrating to these new consoles, or already have, we'll make it worth your investment," wrote Bungie community manager Chris "Cozmo" Shannon in Bungie's latest "This Week at Bungie" post.

Shiny like the PC version.

Both consoles will see support for High Dynamic Range (HDR). On PlayStation 4 Pro, players will see "adaptive" 4K, while Xbox One X will have "4K", pointing towards a native resolution.

The post also notes that the game's weekly reset will be changing with the release of Curse of Osiris. Instead of happening at 1AM Pacific Time, it will occur at 1700 UTC. That comes across as:

  • 9 AM PST
  • 12 PM EST
  • 5 PM GMT
  • 9 PM MSK
  • 2 AM JST
  • 4 AM AEDT
  • 6 AM NZDT

"Throughout Destiny 1's lifespan, players would frequently encounter an issue where weekly resets would not always coincide with content releases. This would prevent impacted players from earning new rewards. Countermeasures were taken by disabling activity playlists, but we were unable to prevent every scenario. Additionally, we're seeking to align the Milestone resets with event availability, such as Trials of the Nine or Iron Banner, to provide a uniform experience for players to follow each week," added Shannon.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Mike Williams

Reviews Editor

M.H. Williams is new to the journalism game, but he's been a gamer since the NES first graced American shores. Third-person action-adventure games are his personal poison: Uncharted, Infamous, and Assassin's Creed just to name a few. If you see him around a convention, he's not hard to spot: Black guy, glasses, and a tie.

Read this next

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep Story Previews Tease What Eris Morn’s Been up to All This Time

She may have met the expansion's true Hive villain already.

Here's the Roadmap for Destiny 2: Shadowkeep's Launch

Everything from the launch of Shadowkeep through the raid and seasonal pass.

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep Release Date

This is our guide on the Destiny 2 Shadowkeep release date, price, gameplay trailers, and more.

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep's Future Approach to Seasonal Content Will Be Borrowing a Lot From Battle Passes

Seasons will come and go, as will premium progression tracks and rewards.

Bungie Says Activision Wasn't a 'Prohibitive Overlord' as it Looks to Destiny 2's Independent Future

The developer says there's no Darkness lingering in this break-up.

Destiny 2's Console Players Are Having a Fun, Disastrous Time Switching to PC

Turns out there are some differences between the platforms.

What's The Best Video Game Spaceship?

COMMUNITY QUESTION | In honor of No Man's Sky Beyond, let's look back on the coolest spaceships around.

More News

Spiritfarer's Art Director on Encouraging Relaxation, Exploration, and Just Chilling on a Boat

How Spirited Away led to a cozy management sim about the afterlife.

Borderlands 3's First Limited-Time Event Will Be a Free Halloween Ghoul Hunt

All Borderlands 3 players will have a few weeks to scoop up some creepy loot and take down a boney boss.

Street Fighter 2's Creator on Why Blocking Was Once a Controversial Issue

A creator and a pro sit down to talk blocking in fighting games.

More on PlayStation 4

FIFA 20 Review: This Year's Version Takes to the Streets, But It's Strongest on the Pitch

A brand new mode and some much-improved gameplay highlight an ambitious update for FIFA.

Borderlands 3's First Limited-Time Event Will Be a Free Halloween Ghoul Hunt

All Borderlands 3 players will have a few weeks to scoop up some creepy loot and take down a boney boss.

Apple Arcade Brings Game Pricing Concerns Back to the Forefront

THIS WEEK IN BUSINESS | Will successful subscription services turn into their own walled gardens?

Sony Teases More The Last Of Us Part 2 for Next Week's State of Play

Naughty Dog wants us all to tune in next week.

The Coolest, Most Badass Guns of Borderlands 3

Crack open those chests and see some of the fantastic weapons in Gearbox' latest.

Fortnite Is Unveiling a Batman-Themed Event Tomorrow

Alfred, I need more Slurp Juice!

More FPS Games

Borderlands 3's First Limited-Time Event Will Be a Free Halloween Ghoul Hunt

All Borderlands 3 players will have a few weeks to scoop up some creepy loot and take down a boney boss.

Call of Duty Modern Warfare Beta Start Times - Dates, Platforms, How to Access the Beta

Here's our guide covering the Call of Duty Modern Warfare beta dates, as well as all global start times, platforms, and how to access the beta.

Apex Legends Season 3 Start Date - Crypto, Charge Rifle, Battle Pass Tiers - Everything We Know

Here's all the details we have on Apex Legends Season 3: Meltdown, including the start date, new Crypto character, Charge Rifle, and more.

Call of Duty Mobile Release Date - Android, iOS, Price, Battle Royale

Here's our guide on the Call of Duty Mobile release date, Android and iOS download details, battle royale news, and more.