Destiny 2 Servers Are Back Online After Longer Than Expected Maintenance

Destiny 2 Servers Are Back Online After Longer Than Expected Maintenance

Sorry if you lost precious hours to grind before tomorrow's big Destiny 2 Raid.

After a longer than anticipated delay, Destiny 2 servers are back online according to Bungie's Twitter account.

Bungie announced that Destiny 2 would go offline for maintenance today for four hours starting at 7am PT/10am ET. Originally, the scheduled timeframe was for servers to go offline for four hours, or until 11am PT/2p, ET.

Unfortunately, the downtime lasted a bit longer than intended, first delayed an hour, before finally going live three hours after the initial maintenance time estimate at 2pm PT/5pm ET. A 4.7GB patch also went live for download in the meantime.

Destiny 2 servers are running now, though Bungie's support account expects some lines in the loading queue. This delay has no doubt affected some players expecting to grind out Power Levels to reach the 260-280 range in time the first Destiny 2 raid tomorrow. Unfortunately, the delayed maintenance downtime means that some players' planned grinds have been cut short, though I have no doubt that they'll try and make up for it if able to.

Check out our Destiny 2 leveling guide for tips to maximize your time before tomorrow's Leviathan raid.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Matt Kim

News Editor

Matt Kim is a former freelance writer who's covered video games and digital media. He likes video games as spectacle and is easily distracted by bright lights or clever bits of dialogue. He also once wrote about personal finance, but that's neither here nor there.

Related articles

Sludge Life and Borderlands Handsome Collection Are Funny, First-Person, and Free on Epic

The similarities kind of stop there, but who's complaining when both are free?

Madden Will Be the Only NFL Sim in Town For a While Longer Thanks to New Deal

Madden will retain its exclusive sim status, though others are exploring new NFL partnerships.

You may also like

Who Is the Best New Nintendo Character of the Past Decade?

Some amazing Nintendo characters have surfaced in the past ten years alone. Which one takes the top spot?

Arkane Studios' First Game, Arx Fatalis, Is Free From Now Until the End of May

Love Dishonored? Play the very first game Arkane flexed its first-person finesse on.

The Last of Us Part 2 Developers Talk About Walking Ellie's Path Through the Real Seattle

You know there'll be a flood of up-close comparisons once the game launches.