Fallout 76 Offline to Address Nuke Bug [Update: Back Online]

Rest easy, a hotfix is coming very soon.

It's a new day, a new week, a new year, and a new era for Fallout 76 drama. And to think we left the controversies of 2018 in the past! (Just kidding, 2018 will follow us into the grave.)

Yesterday, players uncovered a bug where the nuclear codes for this week were the same as last week's, meaning no one could input the correct codes into the terminals. In layman terms: no one in Fallout 76 has been able to launch nukes since 2019 began. Bethesda were quickly made aware of the fumble, addressing it on Twitter. Earlier this morning, Bethesda noted that Fallout 76 would be brought offline while it applied a hotfix to amend the weekly reset bug. Since about 11:30 a.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. ET, Fallout 76 has been offline.

This current update will likely be fixed within the next few hours, and is resigned to fix only this specific bug. For the rest of the year, Bethesda has more substantial updates in the works too. In a blog published yesterday, Bethesda teased its plans of "new quests, weekly in-game events, new Vaults opening, a new PvP mode, Player Vending" and more. When Fallout 76 is back online, we will update this post.

Update, 12:50 p.m. PT / 3:50 p.m. ET: According to a tweet from Bethesda Support, Fallout 76 is back online.

Tagged with Bethesda, bugs, multiplayer, News, online.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.