Final Fantasy XII Comes to PlayStation 4 with The Zodiac Age

Square Enix continues the cavalcade of remasters with one of its best.

News by Mike Williams, .

Square Enix has officially announced that its next high-definition remaster will be Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age. The company is redoing the PlayStation 2 title for PlayStation 4, working with Final Fantasy XII: International Zodiac Job System as the base for this release. Square Enix has already confirmed that the game will be heading west.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age will be shiny as hell with high-definition graphics and updated character models, but Square Enix is also adding new fonts and PS4 trophy support. The game will feature 7.1 surround sound with a re-recorded soundtrack, and players have the option of choosing between the original and remastered soundtracks. And if you're a Japanese language purist, the game will have both Japanese and English voice tracks.

Here's the team working on Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age from the official site (via Siliconera):

  • Producer: Hiroaki Kato
  • Director: Takashi Katano
  • Art Direction: Ryotaro Takahashi (CGStyle)
  • Technical Direction: Seiki Iwamura
  • Game Design: Jun Akiyama
  • Composer: Hitoshi Sakimoto (Basiscape)
  • Music Editor: Keiji Kawamori
  • Sound Effect Direction: Tomohiro Yajima
  • Movie Direction: Kazuyuki Ikumori
  • Supervisors: Hiroyuki Ito, Hiroshi Minagawa

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is coming worldwide in 2017 and will be playable at E3 2016, so you can expect some impressions soon.

We're at E3 next week, covering the year's biggest gaming event. Be sure to check out all our coverage on our E3 2016 hub!

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.