For Honor is Hosting a Public Test for the Upcoming Dedicated Servers

For Honor is Hosting a Public Test for the Upcoming Dedicated Servers

A big fix is coming to For Honor's network connectivity issues.

Ubisoft is finally readying dedicated servers in For Honor. To help set up for the launch, Ubisoft is hosting an Open Test for the new dedicated servers this week from December 14 to December 17. It will be available to all players, regardless of whether or not they own the game.

Those who want to participate in the Open Test can pre-load the custom test client starting on December 13 at 1 am PT/4 am ET. The Open Test will let players use the full roster of character in 1v1 Duel, 4v4 Dominion, and 4v4 Tribute modes. Rewards earned from the event will be added to the player's main accounts, or carried over for new players who decide to purchase the full game afterwards.

For Honor is a competitive, online hack and slash game that lets ancient warriors from a variety of different cultures and histories, battle it out for supremacy. While the game has fostered a rather dedicated online community, the game has been regularly criticized for its connectivity problems.

Prior to the private servers if a host player quit, the game would pause as the host migrates to another player. Fans have requested private servers to help improve the stability of the game and Ubisoft is delivering.

While these dedicated servers are meant to fix the network problems in For Honor, Ubisoft is keen on having an architecture that could be used for future games as well.

The Open Test for the new servers will start on December 14 at 5 am PT/8 am ET and last until December 17 at 5 pm PT/8 pm ET.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Matt Kim

News Editor

Matt Kim is a former freelance writer who's covered video games and digital media. He likes video games as spectacle and is easily distracted by bright lights or clever bits of dialogue. He also once wrote about personal finance, but that's neither here nor there.

Related articles

Stardew Valley Just Got Beaches, Fish Tanks, Swimming Ducks, and a Whole Lot More

Nearly five years on, Eric "ConcernedApe" Barone just pushed what he says is Stardew's "biggest update yet."

Alien: Isolation Is Free on Epic and Just As Good as It Was in 2014

Get the motion tracker and don't go in the vents.

Shigeru Miyamoto Expresses Confidence in the Younger Generation of Nintendo

The legendary creator says the spirit will stay alive.

You may also like

Press Start to Continue

A look back on what we tried to accomplish at USgamer, and the work still to be done.

Mat's Farewell | The Truth Has Not Vanished Into Darkness

This isn't the real ending, is it? Can't be.

Eric's Farewell | Off to Find a New Challenger

It's time for us to move on, but we'll carry USG with us wherever we go.