Sections

Fortnite Undergoes Downtime as Season 5 Prepares to Launch - UPDATE: Now Live

Season 5 of Fortnite is now live.

News by Hirun Cryer, .

Update: Fortnite Season 5 is now live. Fortnite Season 5 is now upon us, after weeks of teasing by Epic. Remember when that rift first appeared in the sky? That feels like a year ago at this point.

Epic announced that Season 5 would kick off at 1 am PST/4 am EST on Thursday July 12, but at the time of writing, the Fortnite servers are down. Fortnite Season 5 will begin once the maintenance is over. We'll update this post once the maintenance has been completed.

An update for Fortnite Battle Royale is now live on PC, PS4, and Xbox One. On the PS4 version of the game at least, the update comes in at right around 4.7GB.

To take part in all the Season 5 events, such as Weekly Challenges, you'll have to fork out for the new Battle Pass. This should cost 950 V-Bucks, which equates to roughly $10, which will grant you 1,000 V-Bucks total.

Later today at around 11 am PST/2 pm EST, USgamer will be streaming Fortnite Season 5 for 2 solid hours. You can catch the action over on our Twitch channel, where multiple members of the team will be delving into the chaos at once.

For everything else you need on the latest seasonal event for the Battle Royale game, make sure to head over to our Fortnite Season 5 guide. We've also got a guide to the Fortnite Week 1 Season 5 challenges.

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments 1

Comments on this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Comments

Close