The Nintendo Switch released its 8.0 software update earlier this week with a couple of key features. Main among them is the ability to transfer your save data between Switch consoles.
Version 8.0 of the Nintendo Switch came out a little before the 3.0 update for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. The biggest feature is the ability to transfer save files from individual games across Switch consoles. So, if you bought a new Switch, it's now possible to transfer your existing save files over to a new Switch console.
Nintendo has come a long way since the days of the DS, when transferring files between Nintendo hardware was either tedious or borderline impossible. Nintendo's really embraced functional online services with the Nintendo Switch with services like Nintendo Switch Online, even if those services still don't come with expected features like online voice communication.
Other updates for 8.0 includes a zoom feature, and a new sorting option to organize your Nintendo Switch video game library. Check out the full changelog below.
- Software can be sorted by time last played, total play time, software title, and software publisher
- A View All Available News option is available within News, allowing you to view all news items currently being distributed
- Select from 15 new icons from the Splatoon 2 and Yoshi's Crafted World games for your user
- A feature to Transfer Your Save Data is now available, allowing you to transfer your save data for individual games between your Nintendo Switch systems
- Save data will not remain on your source system after the transfer process completes
- A Zoom feature can be enabled from within System Settings
- An option is available to prevent the system from waking from Sleep Mode when an AC adapter is disconnected
- This also applies when undocking your console
- A VR Mode (3D Visuals) restriction is available within Parental Controls
- This will also be available in the Nintendo Switch Parental Controls app through a later update
- Hong Kong / Taiwan / South Korea is available for selection in Region
- The following names have been changed (functionality remains the same)
- Save Data Cloud Backup > Save Data Cloud
- Transfer Your User and Save Data > Transfer Your User Data