Shadow of the Tomb Raider's Options Let You Individually Set Puzzle, Traversal, and Combat Difficulty

Shadow of the Tomb Raider's Options Let You Individually Set Puzzle, Traversal, and Combat Difficulty

Tailor the game to how you like to play or opt for the super tricky 'Deadly Obsession' setting.

The Tomb Raider series is known for, well, tomb raiding, and with that comes a fair amount of puzzles. Just recently, Square Enix has revealed brand new accessibility and advanced difficulty options for Lara Croft's upcoming game, which are pretty impressive.

Over on the official Shadow of the Tomb Raider website, Square announced the changes that Eidos Montreal is making for the upcoming sequel. "We’ve made it possible for players to independently adjust difficulty for puzzles, traversal, and combat," reads the post. "There are four unique settings for the aforementioned trio: Easy, Normal, Hard, and Deadly Obsession. While traditional options like easy, normal, and hard can be swapped at any time, once a player chooses Deadly Obsession, it applies to all three categories (puzzles, traversal and combat)."

Just below, you can see the various environmental difficult options in action, in several screenshots.

Our big takeaway from this reveal is that you can now adjust the puzzle difficulty options for Shadow of the Tomb Raider. If puzzles in past games in the series weren't what you were there for, then you can simply opt to make them a hell of a lot easier, and therefore less time consuming. This is really impressive stuff from Eidos Montreal, who is taking over development duties from Crystal Dynamics for the first time in the rebooted series.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider will be arriving on PC, PS4, and Xbox One on September 14. For everything else you need to know about the game, head over to our Shadow of the Tomb Raider everything we know guide.

Hirun Cryer

Staff Writer

Hirun Cryer is by far the most juvenile member of USgamer. He's so juvenile, that this is his first full-time job in the industry, unlike literally every other person featured on this page. He's written for The Guardian, Paste Magazine, and Kotaku, and he likes waking up when the sun rises and roaming the nearby woods with the bears and the wolves.

Related articles

The First Fire Emblem Is Coming to Nintendo Switch This December

Shadow Dragon, in its original form, but only for a limited time.

PS5 Will Support Netflix, Disney+, Twitch, and More on Day One

Sony's initial slate of supported entertainment apps has one big addition, Apple TV.

Kojima Productions Is Hiring For Its Next Project

Sounds like things are getting underway at Kojima's studio.

The Outer Worlds Just Got Much-Needed Optimizations and Visual Upgrades on Switch

It might not be a total overhaul, but it's a spit-shine at the very least.

You may also like

NHL 21 Review: This Year's Entry Struggles to Light the Lamp

EA's hockey sim includes a long-awaited update to a classic mode, but legacy issues drag it down to the ice.

Pokemon Sword and Shield is Getting the Hang of DLC Based on Early Crown Tundra Impressions

So long "complete" editions of Pokemon games, you will not be missed.

Darkest Dungeon 2 Heads Into Early Access Next Year

Looks like 2021 will also hold plenty of horrors.

Devolver Digital Acquires Serious Sam Makers Croteam

A press release jokes that it could also be the other way around, but let's keep this publisher/developer relationship simple.