Splatoon 2 Gets Free Demo At The End of March

Splatoon 2 Gets Free Demo At The End of March

New Switch owners will have a taste of Nintendo's squiddy shooter sequel.

Nintendo has announced the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire, a free preview of the game planned for late March. Owners of the brand-new Nintendo Switch can download the online demo to face off against opponents from around the world. The Splatoon 2 Global Testfire will feature the four primary weapons, including the new Splat Dualies. There are also remixed versions of the Splat Charger and Splat Roller weapons.

"Two years have passed in this universe since the original Splatoon, and since then, the weapons, maps and characters have evolved. Through the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire event this March, players will be able to get a taste of that. There will be more new features to experience in Splatoon 2, so please look forward to more reveals in the future," said Splatoon 2 producer Hisashi Nogami.

Over the course of three days, players have six chances to play.

Editor's pick

Splatoon 2: Here's What's New

March 24

  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET
  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26

4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

Splatoon 2 will be launching on the Nintendo Switch this summer.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Mike Williams

Reviews Editor

M.H. Williams is new to the journalism game, but he's been a gamer since the NES first graced American shores. Third-person action-adventure games are his personal poison: Uncharted, Infamous, and Assassin's Creed just to name a few. If you see him around a convention, he's not hard to spot: Black guy, glasses, and a tie.

In other news

The Time Nintendo Got Hooked En Masse on Space Invaders Because of Hiroshi Yamauchi

Some "research" led to a company-wide obsession in 1978.

Need help?

Call of Duty Modern Warfare (2019) Cast - Meet the Actors Behind the Game

The new Modern Warfare has a pretty stellar voice cast. Here’s who’s involved.

Call of Duty Modern Warfare Weapons Tier List

Here's our guide compiling the Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2019 weapons list, including all weapon unlock levels, and more.

Doom Eternal Release Date, QuakeCon Gameplay, Collector's Edition, DLC - Everything we Know

Here's our guide to the Doom Eternal release date, new QuakeCon gameplay, collector's edition, and more.

How to Do Finishing Moves in Call of Duty Modern Warfare

You can pull off brutal finishing moves in the new Modern Warfare. Here’s how.