Where and When to Watch This Week's Debut of The Overwatch League

Where and When to Watch This Week's Debut of The Overwatch League

Matches kick off the evening of January 10, streaming on Twitch.

This is the moment Blizzard's been building up to for some time. After months of team formations and preliminary matches that weren't publicly watchable, the ambitious Overwatch League is finally kicking off with its debut season.

Luckily, unlike the preliminary matches over the summer, every match of the new season will be streamed on Twitch thanks to a new partnership between the two. In addition, Twitch announced that they will be the lead streaming partner of season two of Overwatch League as well. Viewers can also watch the matches live from Blizzard Arena in Burbank, California, where night one is sold out but the rest of the matches still have seats. Alternatively, the more-exclusive MLG.com will also be streaming the event.

Watch live video from OverwatchLeague on www.twitch.tv

Overwatch League is starting Wednesday, January 10 at 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST. The matches will be broadcast on different channels in multiple languages: English, Chinese, Korean, and French. You can find links to each one on Blizzard's blog preparing for the big event.

The two teams starting off the week are local to where some of us at USgamer are based in California, with the tangerine-hued San Francisco Shock facing off against the emerald green Los Angeles Valiant. (For some odd reason, Los Angeles somehow net two teams in Overwatch League, in case you were wondering. I hope that means San Francisco has hope to get another team without an ugly color palette one day.) The other Los Angeles team, Los Angeles Gladiators, are fittingly closing out the debut week of matches on Saturday, January 13 as they face off against Seoul Dynasty.

Root, root, root for the home team.

The premiere season that's vowing to redefine how esports are structured is built much like any other sport: there's a preseason, which has already concluded. Starting this week is Stage One, a five-week period of matches between teams with a prize pool of $125,000. There are four stages in total (each with the same prize pool), running until June 16. After that, it's time for the Playoffs, then on to the Grand Finals, and finally the All-Star Weekend.

If you want to play along while you cheer for your favorite Overwatch League teams, you can get a matching skin to go along with your favorite team in-game right now. It'll cost you though, except if you login by February 13, then you get some freebie tokens to cash in for one of the Overwatch League's new 312 skins.

You can find the entire Stage One schedule for The Overwatch League below.

January 10, Wednesday

  • 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST - San Francisco Shock vs. Los Angeles Valiant
  • 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST - Shanghai Dragons vs. Los Angeles Gladiators
  • 8 p.m. PST / 11 p.m. EST - Dallas Fuel vs. Seoul Dynasty

January 11, Thursday

  • 2 p.m. PST / 5 p.m. EST - London Spitfire vs. Florida Mayhem
  • 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST - Philadelphia Fusion vs. Houston Outlaws
  • 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST - Boston Uprising vs. New York Excelsior

January 12, Friday

  • 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST - Los Angeles Valiant vs. Dallas Fuel
  • 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST - Florida Mayhem vs. Boston Uprising
  • 8 p.m. PST / 11 p.m. EST - San Francisco Shock vs. Shanghai Dragons

January 13, Saturday

  • 11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST - London Spitfire vs. Philadelphia Fusion
  • 1 p.m. PST / 4 p.m. EST - New York Excelsior vs. Houston Outlaws
  • 3 p.m. PST / 6 p.m. EST - Seoul Dynasty vs. Los Angeles Gladiators

What team are you rooting for? Going local? Reserving who you side with for when San Francisco Shock's star player Jay “sinatraa” Won makes his debut in March after he turns 18? Not interested in Overwatch League and its experimental structure for esports at all? Let us know in the comments!

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. See our terms & conditions.

Caty McCarthy

Senior Editor

Caty McCarthy is a former freelance writer whose work has appeared in Kill Screen, VICE, The AV Club, Kotaku, Polygon, and IGN. When she's not blathering into a podcast mic, reading a book, or playing a billion video games at once, she's probably watching Terrace House or something. She is currently USgamer's official altgame enthusiast.

Read this next

Jeff Kaplan Reveals What Convinced Blizzard to Go With Cross-Compatibility for Overwatch 2

Kaplan says not letting Overwatch "die on the vine" took some convincing.

BlizzCon 2019 is Blizzard's Most Crucial Show in Years

The wayward company has a chance to set its tone for the future, for better or worse.

New Overwatch 2 Art Leaks on Blizzard's Website

We may have just learned who Overwatch's next hero is and what WoW's next expansion is called.

Overwatch 2 is Set to Premiere at BlizzCon 2019 - Report

It'll have hero talents and an actual story.

Blizzard's Overwatch Team Says the Nintendo Switch Port Has Been "Eye-Opening"

Bringing the hero shooter to Switch took more than just a visual overhaul.

Blizzard Cancels Overwatch Switch Launch Event Amid Ongoing Public Backlash

The Nintendo New York event has been abruptly cancelled.

Blizzard's Troubled 2019 Finds the Once Invincible Studio at a Crossroads

This past year has found Blizzard embroiled in one controversy after another. What does it say about its future?

More News

Kairi Joins the Battle in Kingdom Hearts 3's Re Mind DLC, Out Next Month

A leaked trailer shows off new playable characters, additional exploration of Scala ad Caelum, and more.

The Elder Scrolls: Legends is "On Hold" at Bethesda

Bethesda's collectible card game is getting put in storage for the foreseeable future.

With Reconstruction Complete, Starbreeze is Pinning Its Future on Payday

After a tough year for the publisher, Payday seems like its best bet.

In Japan, a Dispute Filled With Accusations of Sexual Harassment and Bad Business Practices Boils Over

Allegations against Dangen Entertainment and its CEO are coming to light after a falling out between the company and some of its dev partners.

More Esports Games

The Game Awards 2019 Nominations: Control and Death Stranding Among Top Nominees

And Smash Bros. gets some belated acknowledgement.

AOC Reveals Her League of Legends Ranking, Which is Actually Higher Than Rick Fox's

Let's get an exhibition match in Summoner's Rift going.

Overwatch Director Jeff Kaplan Just Threw in His Support for Blitzchung

"I think the suspension should be reduced more or eliminated. But that's just me."

Rocket League's New Blueprint System is Psyonix's Solution to Its Loot Box Problem

So long crates and keys, hello blueprints and credits.