Sections

Arms Review: Fists of Fury

Nintendo's new fighting game is charming, but a little too sparse.

Review by Caty McCarthy, .

Arms is a strange, endearing little game. Emphasis on the little. It's the newest game from Nintendo, a sorta marquee title for the Nintendo Switch. Already heralded as "the Splatoon for fighting games," there's a lot riding on the game. And surprisingly, many, many ways to play it.

At first glance, the world surrounding Arms is wild and bright. The game's ten fighters are all quirky in their own ways. From Ribbon Girl, a cheerleader gone pop star, to Mechanica, a normal human girl who admired the coil-armed fighters of Arms, the television show, so much that she built a mecha that worked in the same way. The lore behind the spiral-armed fighters is rightfully odd. In its world, a select few humans (and non-humans) awoke one day with lengthy spiral arms, and the characters do as anyone with that predicament does: they battle one another on a faux-television show called ARMS. The winner gets glory, and presumably bragging rights.

Arms is a fighting game, technically, but it operates a bit more like a shooter. You choose a character, each with their own special ability in tow. For example, Twintelle can glide in the air magically for a brief few seconds, while Master Mummy heals himself as he guards. You choose a stage, each themed after one of Arms' unique fighters (a giant ramen bowl for the literal noodle-armed Min-Min, a rusty scrapyard for the DIY-created Mechanica, and so on). At the outset, you have three particular "arms" to choose from per fighter: boxing gloves each with their own singular ability. There's two primary discernible traits between the arms: their class (light, medium, heavy), and their elemental perk.

The gloves, unfortunately, don't end up feeling like they vary too much. Once you've played as every character, you've seen all the game has to offer by way of literal arms. Sure, you can unlock more in the small "Get Arms" tab on the bottom of the main menu screen—playable in limited time slots (short for 30 coins, medium for 100 coins, and long for 200 coins) after accruing coins through the game's many other modes—but the only arms unlockable are the ones already equipped by default to other fighters.

In the instance that you're a Twintelle main who wants Kid Cobra's boomerang-like "Coolerang" arm, you just have to hope for the best. The system feels like a skill-based loot box in a way. In the Arm Getter, you punch through targets to build up points, and punch through little gift boxes to unlock specific arms in the process. Inevitably, you're often bright-eyed and bushy-tailed going in, crestfallen going out.

There are many types of lightweight gloves, each with their own elemental ability. If you charge them up (either with a perfect dash or guard), they awaken their inherent elemental power. Sparky, a yellow glove, will briefly shock an opponent when charged up. Essentially the same glove, Chilla, will instead freeze an opponent for a short period of time when charged. The elemental powers all feel the same when you boil it down: they stall the opponent in some fashion, leaving them wide open for a grab while they're vulnerable. There are a few elements that stray from this path, but primarily, they stay the course.

There are other wildly different variants of gloves, each with their own subclasses of disparate elemental abilities. Boomerang-like arms coil in a curve. The Tribolt-like arms shoot three smaller arms simultaneously (particularly useful in the Skillshot mode). They nearly all end up being repeated across the roster, slapping on a varying elemental ability, but ultimately all feeling the same across their own league.

Nintendo's Arms Will Hurt Your Arms

The Splatoon of fighting games might be a bit too imprecise.

The Crowds in Arms Endearingly Cosplay as the Fighters They Love Most

Look out into the stands during a match of Arms, and you'll see fanatical cosplays of your fighter—and your opponent's.

When I attended an Arms preview event last month, a Nintendo representative talked up all the ways to play it. There are "8,000 combinations," they said to a small gathering of notes-scribbling reporters. What they failed to recognize, beyond the mixture of swappable arms and chooseable fighters, were the combinations that come into play in how one uses their Switch. I can't do math, but technically speaking, there are far more combinations than just 8,000.

I played Arms in every way imaginable, in maybe the console's first true test in flexibility. I realized over the course of playing Arms that every time I picked up the game, I was seeing it, and honestly feeling it too, in a whole new way. The rhythm I experienced Arms through was ever-changing. Sometimes depending on my mood. Sometimes on comfortability. Sometimes solely dependent on how I wanted to play, like if I was in the serious, play-to-win mindset. Sometimes, plainly, I molded a new way of playing out of curiosity.

I realized the lenses of these different playstyles often directly correlated with my enjoyment (and in some cases, non-enjoyment) of Arms. Arms is a game with many highs, a lot of middles, and some pretty low-lows. It's a unique subset of a "play your way" game, where the "play your way" leaves the virtual world, and seeps into the tangibility of how you utilize the Switch. The analog controls, I learned, were hard to get used to and a bit illogical. Motion controls were better than most motion controlled games, but are still just the teensiest bit unwieldy. Because of Arms' wildly different experiences, I've opted to do a different sort of review: reviewing my varied experiences of Arms. (So meta, right?)

My dude here is a baby.

Kickstand, Motion Controls

I downloaded my press copy of Arms on a Friday afternoon. My work day was closing out, and with a chime, I realized my download was finished. My partner also has a Switch, and he has his dock hooked up to our living room television. My own Switch's dock has been lazily stuck on my desk—not connected to a television at all. Rather than drag myself out to our uncomfortable Ikea couch, I decided to do something that I frankly never do: I propped the Switch via its absurdly puny kickstand, slid out the Joycons, and proceeded to punch the air.

This, I quickly learned, is maybe the worst way to play Arms. The screen is small. Not being held directly in your hands led to me scooting backwards in my chair to an uncomfortable medium distance. I was using motion controls after all, and didn't want to land a hit on the console by accident. Yet the screen being smaller than your average tablet, and Arms needing my utmost attention in order to telegraph my opponents' moves, proved an inefficient way to play.

1.5 out of 5 punches

Docked, Motion Controls, Multiplayer

I played multiplayer mostly with my partner. He groaned at the motion controls. Eventually, I ended up preferring them. (At least, when playing on the television.) Together, we battled against each other. We battled against AI through Grand Prix, a mode that can be done co-op as well as single-player. I prevailed. I failed. He did so too. I learned in this experience that Arms is far more enjoyable when playing with someone else—granted, not for too long of a time. After a couple hours, the fatigue settled in, and we stopped for the night. (He has not played Arms with me since.)

On the topic of multiplayer, I'll run down the many modes in Versus: the primary arena where you'll battle alongside IRL pals. The multiplayer modes in Arms vary drastically. The strongest, as with the rest of the game, is just one-on-one. Team Fight (two-on-two) isn't too bad either (either four people in the same room, or two people versus AI), but the tether that binds you and your friend together often inspires more frustration rather than inspiring agile coordination. The other modes in Versus that are available for multiplayer are Skillshot, where you punch bullseye targets for high scores; V-Ball, where you hit an explodable volleyball back and forth over a net; and Hoops, where your only goal is to grab your opponent, and slam dunk them into a basketball hoop.

At first play, the different modes spice up the core game. But after a few matches, they grow tedious, and I just wished I was in standard fights once again. It's a bummer, especially in the game's online multiplayer Party Match, where players have no say in what type of match they're thrown into. The worst of these, by far, are when three players are thrown into a stage as a free-for-all, left to fight each other—no teams—to KO. The result is usually one player getting teamed up against, taken out quickly, and the remaining two dueling it out like a normal fight.

3.5 out of 5 punches

Docked, Joycons in Grip

I've heard Switch players complain about the gripped Joycons in the past, but they've never bothered me. (The perks of being incredibly small, I guess.) The Pro controller, of course, is usable here. I don't have one, so I'll be honest and admit that I was sorta-lying back when I said I played Arms in "every way imaginable."

Regardless, Arms looks remarkably sharp on the television. The vibrant characters spring to life on the screen as they bounce around battles. Their elastic arms extend to impossible lengths; their fists knock each other out. Watching a match of Arms is tremendously different from playing it. As a now-experienced player, it's now possible for me to see the strategies slipping by. The players not punching other fists out of their way, or not guarding at all. It made me realize the game's esport potential: if players take it seriously enough, and should the arms eventually grow more varied than they currently are.

The fighters have the same problem as the arms. Where the arms' elemental subclasses feel all too similar, the fighters often don't feel too different from one another, outside of a few exceptions and each character's small-but-unique special ability. I found myself gravitating towards Twintelle, who has the ability to hold herself in a glide in mid-air, giving an aerial edge on opponents. Beyond her, the robot cop duo Barq & Byte, and the gross-looking DNA man Helix, the fighters ended up not feeling all too different from one another. Or at least, their differences were subtle enough to be negligible.

Barq & Byte and Helix, in particular, feel the most different from the rest. You technically play as Byte in the Barq & Byte duo. Barq is your robo-dog companion, shooting an arm of their own at opponents. A perfectly timed dash and leap will send you hopping off the dog to get a literal leg up on opponents. Byte's a little bit clunky, but the duo is strong. Meanwhile, Helix has the oddest default arms in the game: a Guardian shield, for protection, and the Blorb. The Blorb is a giant paintball that bounces on the ground with its weight, and if powered up, splatters the opponent's vision (like the squid ink in Mario Kart).

Playing them just made me wish that all the characters felt just as special. As much as I gravitated towards Twintelle (partly because I loved her hair-fighting character design, the other because she was the first fighter I was able to beat the game's 1v100 mode with), she still didn't fundamentally feel too different from a lot of the fighters beside her. In most fighting games, every fighter feels wonderfully singular in both their design, their abilities, and the ways players approach them. In Arms, the fighter behind the fists feels like an afterthought.

3 out of 5 punches

Portable, Joycons Locked Side-by-Side

As I did with Breath of the Wild, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, Puyo Puyo Tetris, and more, I played Arms primarily in portable mode. I couldn't help it. I abhor the analog controls, where you're at an inherent disadvantage due to being unable to curve each arm individually with the analog sticks—as you'd expect after playing with the motion controls. Instead, the A and B buttons are your punches, with only one stick able to curve both. With motion controls, obviously, this isn't an issue. Though as I stated above, motion has its own breadth of imprecise control issues as well.

Still, even if I wished for a way to remap the buttons (spoiler: there is none), I got used to the lackluster controls anyways. I even got good. Or at least, good enough to pass through some of the higher thresholds of the Grand Prix mode. The Grand Prix mode is where the "meat" of Arms is: you choose a character, and battle your way through ten fights to become champion. The battles are familiar, lifted from Versus mode and rewrapped into a tidy package to masquerade as the game's "main" single-player and co-op mode. The battles vary from mostly one-on-ones to the sillier modes, like V-Ball. The Grand Prix isn't technically done the first time you finish it, as there are ten fighters to direct through it, and multiple tiers of difficulty too. (Difficulty level 5, at least for me, is where it ramps upwards drastically.)

3 out of 5 punches

You can change fighters' colors too by holding down the left analog stick in any direction, giving you three alternate hues to choose from.

Arms is a game I like more in theory than actually playing it. It often feels like a shell for a could-be great game. The depth is there, as is the strategy. With more arms, fighters, and stages eventually on the way this year incrementally, like Splatoon's regularly updated model, I imagine a year from now Arms will be a much different (and much better) game.

But as of now, too little stands here. The hardcore players will find something to enjoy. Whether that's in Versus' only single-player mode 1v100 (where players battle 100 AI creatures), in the Grand Prix mode's increasingly more difficult levels, or the competitive Ranked mode (gated for players who have completed the Grand Prix on level 4). Casual players, I suspect, will fall off quickly. The bonus modes offer little enjoyment and much tedium. Multiplayer alongside real life friends, whether versus or co-op, is fun to hop into for a brief amount of time, but never for too long.

Of course, where Arms truly shines is when you're nearly alone in the ring, just fist on fist, one-on-one. It doesn't change the fact that after a few hours with all the fighters and arm combinations, I felt like my time with the game was running thin. Occasionally though, Arms would surprise me. Like in the higher difficulties of its Grand Prix mode (and the later segments of its 1v100 versus modes), when tensions would peak. I just wish that it had more to offer—beyond silly forgettable side modes, an odd online matchmaking system that gives the player no choice, and its lack of tangible variety among its few arms and fighters.

But I guess there's always next year, right?

Arms has a lot to love, and unfortunately, a lot to forget too. After a year of planned updates, I imagine the Arms we see a year from now will be a drastically different game. A more fuller one, at that. In the meantime though, while it has potential with its layers of depth, the core game simply doesn't have enough variety among its many arms and fighters to keep the experience feeling fresh for long.

3 /5

Arms Review: Fists of Fury Caty McCarthy Nintendo's new fighting game is charming, but a little too sparse. 2017-06-07T14:00:00-04:00 3 5

This article may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and buy the product we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments 30

  • Avatar for Modern-Clix #1 Modern-Clix 4 months ago
    Interesting review. Are you into fighters by chance? The reason I ask is because the feedback from fighting enthusiasts is that the game has tons of depth between the fighters and the various loadouts regarding the arms. As well as the precision of the motion controls.

    One small note though when you wrote "Twintelle can glide in the air magically for a brief few seconds".

    Her power is too slow down time other player's arms for a few seconds :)
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for MarioIV #2 MarioIV 4 months ago
    If not enough content is keeping ARMS from getting a higher score you are making a mistake. The same thing happened with Splatoon and sites like IGN had to "update" their score once the promised new content rolled out after a few months. You should trust Nintendo and cut them some slack. I personally like when a game doesn't give you everything right away and it gets unlocked after some time, unfortunately reviewers treat this as a lack of variety and the reviews go lower.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Kuni-Nino #3 Kuni-Nino 4 months ago
    Yeah, the score sounds about right. It's a fighting game with fighting as the central focus. It's light on the bullshit.

    That means if you don't click with its mechanics you might as well not bother. I'm interested in the game in general because it's a fresh looking fighting game. If only I could find a Switch.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for hiptanaka #4 hiptanaka 4 months ago
    This reflects my impressions of the "Testpunch". I like the core gameplay, but I'd prefer it in a more elaborate context. While it's great the depth is there for competetive play, I really would've liked a career mode of some sort.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for hiptanaka #5 hiptanaka 4 months ago
    @Kuni-Nino Sounds like she likes the mechanics, just not the lack of variety.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for catymcc #6 catymcc 4 months ago
    @Modern-Clix Skullgirls is one of my favorite games of the last decade, so yes, I am "into fighters." Haha. Not to a professional extent or anything though. I'm aware of Twintelle's ability. That doesn't nullify that the core of it is gliding and pausing herself in mid-air to get the jump on her opponents as they're vulnerable. And I praised the motion controls in this review? But they are by no means perfect in my experience, just definitely superior to most motion controlled games. They are, in a rare occurrence, far better than the analog controls though.
    @MarioIV
    What? My job is to review the game at hand, not the game it *might* be months down the line. I loved Overwatch last year, a game that has added plenty of content post-release, and felt like a full game at the start. Splatoon, another game I loved, suffered the same problem as Arms, but to a far lesser extent in my opinion.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for hiptanaka #7 hiptanaka 4 months ago
    @catymcc Are there any sort of rewards to playing through the grand prix with the different characters, and on higher difficulties? Like backstory for the characters and such.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for manoffeeling #8 manoffeeling 4 months ago
    Ehhh, I really think this is the kind of game that needs to be reviewed by somebody more willing to invest themselves in it. I haven't had any more time with it than anybody else, so I'm not qualified of course, but I suspect the differences between combinations of arms are probably subtle but real.

    edit: lol, why do I have negative votes on this? :DEdited 2 times. Last edited June 2017 by manoffeeling
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for catymcc #9 catymcc 4 months ago
    @hiptanaka You get coins to unlock more Arms in the Arm Getter, and technically get access to the game's Ranked mode. But other than that..... not really. ): You get a little introduction to each character at the start of a Grand Prix though, but nothing too extensive.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for SIGGYZtar #10 SIGGYZtar 4 months ago
    @MarioIV This is a $60 game from Nintendo, a company once known for giving us the complete package on day one. If they follow the trends of their competitors on the software side, especially when their audience is family-oriented, I can see how some may be disappointed.

    Besides, why should it be a bad thing that a writer revisits a game from time to time, changing his/her opinion of it as it gets upgraded? It's not so much of a flash in the pan AAA release market anyway.Edited June 2017 by SIGGYZtar
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Kuni-Nino #11 Kuni-Nino 4 months ago
    @hiptanaka If you're really into the mechanics, you wouldn't tire of them after a few hours. At least that's how I see it. I'm really into SFV. I have about 2000 matches online and I'm still playing it. Does the lack of modes bother me at all? Nope because I'm too busy playing the game to care.

    It's a tricky balance with fighting games and why I think it's hard to review them. Someone like me doesn't care at all about single player modes. I care strictly about the experience against the other person: how does it feel like, what are my options, how do the matchups work, etc. Unfortunately these are questions that really can't be answered by a review alone and take a lot of time to figure out over the course of a fighting game's life. I don't expect reviews to address this aspect simply due to the lack of time and the nature of the media to cover the next big release.

    All this review tells me is that ARMS is technically an interesting fighter and that if you're going to buy it, you're only buying it for that. It's got nothing else to offer in modes and variety. So it's a lot like SFV in that regard. If I don't care for versus, I might as well ignore it.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Ralek #12 Ralek 4 months ago
    @MarioIV So where does this end though? Who decides that Nintendo gets cut some slack, but another company doesn't? Are we just assuming a lack of content will be remedied as promised, but bugs and technical issues won't? That doesn't make sense to me, and if we assume that bugs and technical issues get remedied along the way as well, why would we even bother considering these questions in the first place?
    Frankly, if you grant allowance for what could very well be a year or so from now, then why review the game now and not a year from now .... ? Exactly! No one knows if a year from now anyone caring about the game today, will still care. As it goes with player populations chances are that a substantial number will have moved on - either entirely or at least with their focus.

    I get where you are coming from, I really do, but I think that the sentiment is just wrong. It's not on us consumers (or reviewers for that matter) to IMAGINE what the game will be like at some point in the future ... it's on companies to make proper product, with decent value to sell to us now. If they want to improve on said product even further, that is fine, but it should be just that, a further improvement. Rather than that, what we are seeing more and more is not improvements but rather fixes.

    I'm ok with a review updating it's score, that is a policy that can and should be considered, but there is no way a review should ever read like "bad now, will be great though - 9/10". There is just no way to predict how addition and changes will pan out, and people care what they are getting for their hard earned cash now.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for hiptanaka #13 hiptanaka 4 months ago
    @Kuni-Nino Sure. Personally I like to fall back on an elaborate single player mode when I don't feel like competitive play, but it's true that VS is the backbone of fighting games. However, Street Fighter also has a lot more variety in the abilities/movesets of the fighters than Arms does. When I got bored with/was stuck in ranked in SF4, even with a pretty weak single player mode, I could fool around with a new character and learn the basics, to keep things fresh. That seems less pronounced in Arms.Edited June 2017 by hiptanaka
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for hiptanaka #14 hiptanaka 4 months ago
    @catymcc Ok. That's a bit disappointing. It sounds like I might wait and see with this game, with so little (interesting) to fool around with between ranked matches.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Lonecow #15 Lonecow 4 months ago
    This is one of those games where I played the demo and it clicked with me immediately. I got it, I got the controls and I was having a blast and winning round after round.

    So it is frustrating to see so many reviewers not get it. I understand. I've had many games where eI don't understand the appeal where everyone else does. I just wish this was one of those games where everyone got it, because I think these lukewarm reviews are going to kill early something that I want to invest a lot of time in.

    Motion control game never review well with professional critics, and that is also really frustrating because I found the controls to be so incredibly precise. Every punch I threw connected to where I wanted it to hit.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for catymcc #16 catymcc 4 months ago
    @lonecow A 3/5 is good in my book. I think a lot of people read anything lower than like a 4 as a bad review, but for USgamer, a 3/5 is a decent game that still has problems, which I articulate in this review. It's just a game that's missing a lot for me, even if I love things about it. It just doesn't have as much tangible variety in arms + character combinations that I'd like, where a lot of the elemental abilities feel inconsequential. I think the core fighting here is incredibly strong and interesting otherwise, something I'm excited to see Nintendo build upon over the next year with updates, and beyond as the series goes forward.

    Also I praised the motion controls in my review—they are by far my preferred way to play. They're not perfect. But it feels more natural than analog.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for TheWildCard #17 TheWildCard 4 months ago
    @MarioIV That might have worked well for Splatoon but there's no guarantee it will work out as well for Arms. If the content is so sparse a lot of people are going to drift away before those updates come out that's a knock against it. It might be an evolving game, but if you start light on content you should expect review scores to be lower, full stop.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Lonecow #18 Lonecow 4 months ago
    @catymcc Yeah that's why I said lukewarm. That's usually enough to kill a game with most gaming fans. It sucks it is that way but it's true.

    And I also said all reviews are trending the same way. I wasn't singling you out specifically. Your review is in line with your peers. I'm just saying its unfortunate, because I found it to be a refreshing new type of game experience that I want to see succeed.

    Honestly my critique was more aimed at gamers than your review. In a perfect world 3/5 would be enough for people to say, "That looks worth checking out." I'm too cynical and jaded to beleive that is what actually happens.

    As for the motion controls, yeah you rated it higher, but the game was clearly built with motion controls in mind. So it isn't an issue of you liking one better than the other, it's the fact it is a motion controlled video game with regular controls added. So if you already don't care for motion controls, you are grading on a sliding scale.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for chiptoon #19 chiptoon 4 months ago
    Maybe I'll wait for them to rerelease it on their next console with extra content.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for frogopus #20 frogopus 4 months ago
    Sold on the testpunch alone. This game is polished, beautiful, oozes style, with depth and variety in spades. And I can honestly say that I haven't played a game quite like it before, which is rare. It really reminds me of a Dreamcast era arcade game like Power Stone meets Virtual On and, with those arcade roots, it doesn't need half the content that it already has. A 6/10 doesn't remotely match my experience and I hope that a lot of people end up feeling that way.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Patrick-C #21 Patrick-C 4 months ago
    Not to discount Caty's thoughts — this is a good, fair review — but I'm thinking this is definitely one of those titles, even more than most, where your own personal tastes are really going to shape your reaction to the game.

    I'll explain this by way of a kind of longwinded anecdote. I bought a Switch at launch, even though I couldn't really afford it, but that was largely in anticipation of games to come. I don't have enough time in my life to devote to a Zelda, so I'm pretty much the one person who didn't buy Breath of the Wild. Mario Kart 8 was my first retail game. But I wanted SOMETHING to play on it, so I popped for the ACA Neo Geo release of Waku Waku 7.

    Now, I gather this is not one of the more beloved Neo Geo fighters; Garou and Samurai Showdown IV are on the Switch and I think they're more popular. Waku Waku 7 only has 7 playable characters, so I think it's regarded as kind of shallow. But I freaking love it: there's only 7 characters, sure, but each of those 7 has LOADS of personality, and the core fighting mechanics are both accessible and surprisingly deep — the game only uses a couple of attack buttons, but there's wall jumps and lots of different levels of special attacks and a charge system and all kinds of bells and whistles.

    I've played the hell out of Waku Waku 7. And it made me realize that I don't need my fighting games to be enormous — I rarely spend much time on more than 5 - 10 characters in any given fighting game. I'm happy with a leaner experience where everything counts. And ARMS is definitely giving me flashbacks to Waku Waku 7 in that sense — it's bright and colorful and pretty easy to grasp, and each character of its slim cast is packed with personality. And, like frogopus said, it reminds me a LOT of Virtua On and Power Stone, as well, and those are great touchstones too.

    I think Caty's gripes are fair. But I, personally, don't care. Even in a world where Nintendo never updated the game with more characters, I'd probably be happy with it. I feel like lean experiences are underrated in contemporary gaming. But then I'm old-fashioned.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for Folkenhellfang #22 Folkenhellfang 4 months ago
    I'm still looking forward to this game. Since the Switch announcement Arms has been my most anticipated game, and my time with the Testpunch has only amplified my desires.
    With the conversation leaning on Arms' lack of content, I'm wondering what else would people like to see?
    Coming off of long games like Zelda, FF 15, and Ni-oh, I feel like the content looks about right. It's no Arc Systems fighter, but what is?
    Another point is that when was the last time we had a 3D fighter that actually leveraged its 3D space? Virtual On (love that game)?
    It's rare that we get a new IP with such a charismatic cast with this kind of ambitious design.
    Maybe ambition and charisma aren't to be lauded. Hell, maybe I'm just too easy to impress. But after 30 years of gaming I still look for the next big thing, and if SF5 is emblematic of what a modern fighter should be... gimme Arms!
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for frogopus #23 frogopus 4 months ago
    @Patrick-C Oh man. I have a custom arcade built in the basement and Waku Waku 7 gets tons of play. It's one of the best hidden gems from the Neo Geo and I'm glad that the Switch is giving it some more visibility finally. And I didn't make the comparison to ARMs until you said it, but absolutely.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for LK4O4 #24 LK4O4 4 months ago
    Is the online ranked mode "fair"? As in, can people grind to have better ranked mode characters than other people?
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for BigPrimeNumbers #25 BigPrimeNumbers 4 months ago
    Such a bummer that there's no single player campaign really to speak of. Even Splatoon had one (albeit a little short), and it felt like a much more complete package for it. Here's hoping they add one in the future.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for donkeyintheforest #26 donkeyintheforest 4 months ago
    It sounds like they are going to be constantly adding fighters, arms, arenas, modes in the future like they did for Splatoon. This gives me hope for the title, but the lack of a campaign (even one as simple as Splatoon's) is disheartening.

    Also, the city lobby area in Splatoon, with the super fun Miiverse drawings contributed about 30% of the pleasure that came from that game for me. It was a perfect and well curated integration of community and user creativity that really lent itself to making a more fun experience. I really hope they have that in Splatoon 2, although I think it's going to be difficult when people no longer have styli to make accurate markings :(
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for MarioIV #27 MarioIV 4 months ago
    @SIGGYZtar Sometimes they update the score of their review in their site but this is not reflected on Metacritic. (Happened with IGN's review of Splatoon.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for NiceGuyNeon #28 NiceGuyNeon 4 months ago
    I'll still play this. I'm sure by the time I find a Switch that the game will have some extra content ;)
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for SIGGYZtar #29 SIGGYZtar 4 months ago
    @MarioIV I am sure you are mature enough to read a review rather than relying on scores.
    Sign in to Reply
  • Avatar for KabanoseqRivals #30 KabanoseqRivals 2 months ago
    In this manner you can get cash and gems for your monsters anytime you desire, in order to have tthe chance to promptly increase your performance in the video game as well as relocate to http://www.shirecrystal.com.
    Sign in to Reply

Comments

Close